Personal Branding

Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Pinterest, WordPress… the list goes on and on! These days it seems like social media is always on the go, and you either go with it or go home. This afternoon, as I procrastinated my thesis work, I took it upon myself to take a fresh look at my various profiles. In an attempt to streamline my professional look, I re-branded so that all of my public profile have a similar look. This meant switching my Twitter moniker from CateBayles to FreshInTheField (ring a bell?) and adjusting photos. I went with this jellyfish shot I took at the Jellies exhibition at the Shedd Aquarium in Chicago. What could have taken a few minutes took entirely too long, as I am some what of a color perfectionist. Do you have any tips for social media self-marketing? What makes a profile stand out above the rest?

Follow me on Twitter at @FreshInTheField

About catebay

Informal educator working in the world of art. Interests in public programming and community advocacy. Loves learning about people, collecting blue mason jars, and consuming Swedish fish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Personal Branding

  1. samantha says:

    You make a great point on the importance of streamlining (and updating) a social media presence. I also love how you incorporated a personal photo from a museum experience as your unique background – it could spur all sorts of potential conversation at, say, an interview! Thanks for the insight! 🙂

  2. catebay says:

    Thanks for your comment, Samantha. One thing I have learned is to be always be aware of the institutions you name when blogging or using other forms of social media. I recently was quoted to myself during a phone interview! The marketing person at an institution had a google alert set for their museum and spotted a review I wrote about them on this blog and forwarded it to their whole staff! Thank goodness it was positive!

Leave a Reply

