Blast From the Past

I was doing a bit of online research for my graduate thesis and stumbled upon this gem today – my undergraduate thesis in digital form! Ironically, Multiculturalism and Metamorphoses: How Changing Racial Demographics in the United States are Influencing Museums in the 21st Century has had a greater impact on my current research than I could have ever imagined. My current topic concerning racial diversity in the museum professional field and the reciprocal relationship between diversity of staff and diversity of audience was developed with a lot of assistance from similar sources, including a variety of resources from the AAM’s Center for the Future of Museums. As I continue to write about racial diversity in our museums, I find myself drawing from knowledge that I gained studying anthropology, educational studies, museum studies, ethnic studies, and class, race & gender studies. My thesis, once completed, really will be a culmination of my studies over the past six years. It’s nice to know that my liberal arts education and  interdisciplinary understandings are paying off! In what ways has your education led you to where you are today?

Picture 1

Multiculturalism and Metamorphoses was presented at Illinois Wesleyan University’s John Wesley Powell Research Conference in the Spring of 2011

 

About catebay

Informal educator working in the world of art. Interests in public programming and community advocacy. Loves learning about people, collecting blue mason jars, and consuming Swedish fish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

