Portfolio Planning

While we’ve all been busy stuffing our face full of food over this holiday break, I’ve found a sure-fire way to procrastinate thesis writing! As I look forward to graduating with my masters in May, it was time to dust off those scrap-booking skills and get to work on my portfolio. Here’s my step by step guide to a flawless “visual resume”.

Step One: Resume – update your experiences and decide what aspects of your career you would like to highlight! This might be the most important step. I found that it was helpful to print out a copy of my resume and brainstorm ideas of how I could visually represent the different projects I had completed. Here’s my: Professional Resume

Step Two: Visuals – for my portfolio I went with short writing samples (such as blogs) and focused on images, pictures, brochures, etc that brought my resume to life! Below is an example of a page that is paired with a visual of an exhibit logo. I put the image together in a PDF so that it shows the work I did in Exhibition Development at the Field Museum.

Picture 1

The top photo is of the interns I supervised in a summative evaluation project, the middle photo is of a Xoom tablet that I helped to beta-test new timing and tracking technology on, and the bottom photo is a map of the Restoring Earth exhibit that was the institution’s focus gallery for evaluation.

Step Three: Materials – After you have your images ready and printed (I went for a semi-gloss paper and high quality print at OfficeMax), it’s time to gather your supplies! I shopped at JoAnn Fabrics in the scrapbook section for a leather-bound portfolio book, acid-free paper, and acid-free adhesive stickers. I also found that a pencil, ruler, and scissors came in handy.

A flat surface and the ability to spread out was essential for me! I put all images in the order I envisioned them before beginning to assemble.

A flat surface and the ability to spread out was essential for me! I put all images in the order I envisioned them before beginning to assemble. I decided to use a 12X12 portfolio and mount on black cardstock to really make the images pop.

Step Four: Assembling – Who knew that putting together a scrapbook could be so complicated?! Or that I would need a screw driver! Good thing museum studies students are always prepared.

Finished product! This page highlights my professional blog and the work that I did designed a program at the Farmers Museum with Pathfinder Village, a school for students with developmental disabilities.

Finished product! This page highlights my professional blog and the work that I did designing a program at the Farmers Museum with Pathfinder Village, a school for students with developmental disabilities. I made sure to include pictures of myself (for which I have consent) and evidence of the projects I completed.

Step Five: Final touches – For my portfolio, I chose to include blank pages at the end for additions that I will make in the upcoming year. I also included a business card near the beginning, and had fun adding in small personal details (and riding the fine line between being too “scrap-bookie” and being plain old boring). Overall, I was pleased with the outcome! Hopefully I can put it to good use soon!

IMG_7296

The last pages highlight my work as an intern at the New York State Historical Association. The bottom right postcard is an advertisement for the Native American interpretive site that I will be helping to evaluate in the Spring.

 

 

About catebay

Informal educator working in the world of art. Interests in public programming and community advocacy. Loves learning about people, collecting blue mason jars, and consuming Swedish fish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Portfolio Planning

  1. amersfoort7 says:

    Nice work Cate! I knew you couldn’t help yourself and wait to do this portfolio…LOL Maria 🙂

Leave a Reply

