An Internship’s End

As my time in Chicago winds down, I can honestly say that I have no regrets about how I spent my summer. I pushed myself out of my comfort zone and took on a demanding internship 1. in a natural history museum, 2. in an exhibits department, and 3. working on evaluation. If you could have told me a year ago that I would be pursuing all three of those challenges in the same summer, I would have thought that you were crazy! And yet, as I prepare to leave the city and head back to school to finish my masters, I know that I will return to Cooperstown refreshed, reinvigorated, and ready to make career decisions when the time comes.

At the Field Museum, I’ve learned more about what type of environments I succeed in the most. I’ve learned that flexibility is the key and that if you don’t ask questions then you won’t get the answers. Managing other interns and balancing my time between two departments allowed me to get a better idea of where my talents lie. Where is that, Cate?! People. My talents lie in my ability to work with people. Whether that’s casually chatting with visitors, teaching fellow interns, answering questions, giving interviews, or leading story time – I LOVE to work with people. I thrive on human interaction. I need to work with a team. I need to work with the public. I need to work with people.

Most importantly, this summer I used my time wisely! Nine weeks and nine museums visited! Including…

Here are a few photo highlights from my time in Hyde Park at the DuSable and the MSI today!

The DuSable Museum of African American History is in the process of refurbishing a facility across the street from their current building. Though the exhibits seemed disjointed, the institution brought up a lot of questions for me about museums, communities and diversity. Possible thesis work to be done here?

Holy interactives, Batman! The Museum of Science and Industry was packed full of every interactive in the book. At times, there was so much going on that I felt a tad bit overwhelmed.

The highlight of today’s trip? The MSI’s exhibit on the U-505 submarine – the only German sub in the United States and a national memorial to the men and women who died at sea during WWI and WWII. Recently moved indoors, the newly renovated ship and accompanying exhibit didn’t disappoint!

 

 

About catebay

Informal educator working in the world of art. Interests in public programming and community advocacy. Loves learning about people, collecting blue mason jars, and consuming Swedish fish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

